Psalm 28

This afternoon, our neighbor Nonie Samonte gave us really sad news. Kuya Nonie is an unsung hero who ministers to street children and their families in Cubao, LONG before Efren Penaflorida got that Hero award from CNN. Anyway, last week one of Kuya Nonie’s “alaga” was admitted to the National Children’s Hospital because of a severe case of worms. They administered medicine to the baby and she got better, and was slated to check out yesterday. However, the baby’s family (who lived LITERALLY on 20th St., Cubao, had zero means to pay for the hospital bills) had to delay a little bit because they were being asked by the hospital to pay P15,000 pa before they could leave, or something like that. Doon pa lang naiyak na ako. But I broke down when I heard that late yesterday afternoon the baby experienced lockjaw then died. She was supposed to be okay… So what happened?!

Kuya Nonie said that they are suspecting that they child was injected with a non sterile needle… How else could she have had a fatal tetanus infection? But they will need more proof other than the child’s right arm that is so swollen black and blue because of all the needle punctures (they said that when the child was being hooked up to the IV dextrose, it took many tries for the nurse/medtech to find the right nerve or something)…

Meanwhile the parents are still reeling in grief and shock, and one of them even said that, “Wala namang makikinig sa amin, taong kalye lang kami.” I am still crying and angry, but I got some numbers to call already, praying that one kind lawyer will take their case. I asked Kuya Nonie to have the child autopsied properly. I pray that God will bring comfort to the child’s family, and justice if indeed the medical papers reveal there was hospital negligence.

Psalm 28:1-2
To you I call, O Lord my Rock;
do not turn a deaf ear to me.
For if you remain silent,
I will be like those who have gone down to the pit.
2 Hear my cry for mercy
as I call to you for help,
as I lift up my hands
toward your Most Holy Place.
One thought on “Psalm 28

Leave a Reply

