Days of Awe

‎”As for the foreigner who does not belong to your people Israel but has come from a distant land because of your great name and your mighty hand and your outstretched arm—when they come and pray toward this temple, then hear from heaven, your dwelling place. Do whatever the foreigner asks of you, so that all the peoples of the earth may know your name and fear you, as do your own people Israel, and may know that this house I have built bears your Name” (2 Chron. 6:32).
Yesterday this Scripture came to life in my family. My husband who is in Jerusalem right now (for the first time), prayed for me towards the Kotel, and asked God to heal me of an illness. He reminded God of King Solomon’s prayer in 2 Chronicles 6. At that moment he had prayed, I was sitting in our room that is six time zones away, trying to figure out how to lessen the pain that I had been feeling… when I felt a tingling sensation all over me, and in a few moments, the pain was gone! I am crying for joy even as remember to write this, filled with awe and thankful to Him Who is compassionate and merciful, slow to anger and abounding in love. Halleluyah!

Today is the 5th day of the Ten Days of Awe leading to Sept. 26, which is Yom Kippur, or the Day of Atonement. May the Holy Spirit help us to hear God’s call to repentance during these days, to “render our hearts”, not just our outer garments. Allow me to share a video clip taken at the Kotel by a friend, Mr. Michael Cohen (check out his Youtube channel, ClipsNBlips).

Leave a Reply

