Every morning

For a week now, hormonal surges have given me mood swings and rewired my internal body clock to wake me up around 3-4 am. The week before, it was around 1:00am. But it feels good to be up early, to wake up the dawn with prayer and praise.

I am listening to “Great is Thy Faithfulness.” Who doesn’t love those lines from Lamentations 3:22-23?

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, His compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is Your faithfulness.”

The prophet Jeremiah wrote those lines when he was going through what we today might call a “major depression.” From verse 17 he says, “I have been so deprived of peace, I have so forgotten what happiness is, that I think, “My strength is gone, and so is my hope in Adonai.” Remember my utter misery, the wormwood and the gall. They are always on my mind; this is why I am so depressed.” (CJB)

There are times when we ourselves feel this way, and some days when we struggle so much just to get up and out of bed. During those times, I recommend reading the book of Lamentations. It helps me get perspective, and a glimpse of what Prophet Jeremiah and his people were going through at that time he wrote those lines; the situation around him would really drive one’s spirits down to the ground.

Keeping those situations in mind, verse 21 then feels like a gulp of surface air for someone drowning in cold, murky waters:

“But in my mind I keep returning to something,
something that gives me hope — that the grace of Adonai is not exhausted,
that His compassion has not ended.

[On the contrary,] they are new every morning! How great is your faithfulness!
“Adonai is all I have,” I say; “therefore I will put my hope in Him.” (Lam. 3:21-24, CJB)

Outside the sky is still dark, but I know the sun is coming up soon. Thank You Lord, for the new morning, and for Your renewed faithfulness.

Leave a Reply

