Stepping forward

Somewhere between changing diapers, teaching our 18 month old her ABCs, and breastfeeding, I found out I’m pregnant with our third child. My first reaction was, “Wait, what?!”

Hubby, bless his heart, just grinned from ear to ear and said, “You wanted a child who would look like you, so maybe this new baby will.” Men, since Creation, always find a way to “blame it on the wife” like they had nothing to do with it. 😉

But I am very grateful for Hubby’s company, especially during the times we had to wait for five (yes, five!) hours in the doctor’s office, waiting for our number to be called. While in the waiting room, I had plenty of time to marvel at God’s amazing grace over this new child.

We lost a baby in 2009, because at that time I was young and cocky, I thought being pregnant the second time would be a piece of cake. I saw other women my age (relatively) breezing through their pregnancies, and I assumed I could do the same. I knew I was pregnant as early as the 2nd week, and yet I kept working until I had a miscarriage at 3 mos., and had to battle trauma and depression for months after that. I resolved that should God give us another child, I would do everything I could to ensure that the baby had the best chances to survive.

So when He gave us J’aime Moriyah, I took every precaution to heart, and listened to the doctors until she was born. But I had no inkling whatsoever with Baby #3. I even went on a mission to Palawan, spent time with my Aunt and travelled 10 hours with them to Santiago City, Isabela, and did not feel a thing until after that trip, when we all came down with the flu. However, after everyone else in the family got better, I still kept getting nausea and vomiting bouts. After weeks of not being able to keep whatever I ate, I decided to take tests and when I found out I was positively pregnant, Hubby and I agreed to give this new human being the best care and attention it needs.

Baby #3 must be a toughie, having survived the physical stresses I went through and still be alive at 4 months. I had quite a scare when I experienced some spotting, so I cried for joy and relief when I saw the baby moving and stretching for the first time in the doctor’s office.

And because every pregnancy is unique, I know I will be learning a lot of new things for the next five months, and even after delivery. Things like — how the theory of “coming out of one’s comfort zone” is so different from actually taking the step and being out there, with nothing but an inner peace to guide you, and love, faith and hope of better things to come, to keep you from stepping back.

Baby # 3, we are so happy to have you in our lives, and we look forward to the day we meet face to face.

One thought on “Stepping forward

Leave a Reply

