The greatest haiku of all

It’s no secret to my family and friends — poems written in 5-7-5 syllable patterns are among my all-time favorites.

I have loved haiku
Since I was seven years old
And now I know why.

While spring-cleaning my email inbox, I came across this article that showed me that Our Creator is the greatest Haiku Master of all! http://www.aish.com/ci/a/48932982.html

I got so excited again about this “hobby” of mine, and now Deuteronomy 6:4-9 is for me the best haiku of all:

She-ma Yis-ra-el,
A-do-nai E-lo-hei-nu,
A-do-nai E-chad

Hear, O Israel!
The LORD Almighty is God,
The Lord, He is One!

And to share with you all the joys of haiku, may I present a few “technological” haiku lines I gathered and saved for me, because they make me laugh (and helped me cope when I lost 2 years worth of data backups in one “accident”). This is what happens when computer programmers become haiku poets:

Your file is that big?
It might be very useful.
But now it is gone.

Yesterday it worked
Today it is not working
PCs are like that.

Stay the patient course
Of little worth is your wrath
The network is down.

Three things are certain:
Death, taxes, and lost data.
Guess which has occurred.

You step in the stream,
but the water has moved on —
“Web page can’t be found.”

A system error.
All shortcuts have disappeared.
Screen. Mind. Both are blank.

Chaos reigns within.
Reflect, repent, and reboot.
Order shall return.

First snow, then silence.
This thousand dollar screen dies
so beautifully.

The Tao that is seen
Is not the true Tao, until
You bring fresh toner.

Windows NT crashed.
I am the Blue Screen of Death.
No one hears your screams.

A crash reduces
your expensive computer
to a simple stone.
===

How about you, do you write haiku or have a favorite? Feel free to share in the comments section below!

Leave a Reply

