Happy anniversary, believers!

shavuot-wheatToday is Shavuot for Israel, and Pentecost for followers of Yeshua. I don’t know when was the last time our calendars coincided, but to be celebrating on the same day this year, is something that really excites me. And it’s not about the abundance of cheese either (my family and I love cheese — all kinds of it, especially cheesecake!).

Today is important, because it was the day YHVH gave the Ten Commandments to the people of Israel. Many centuries later, He still affirms this and declared: “This is the new covenant I will make with the people of Israel on that day,” says YHVH. “I will put My instructions deep within them, and I will write them on their hearts. I will be their God, and they will be My people” (Jeremiah 31:33).

And even more centuries later, it was also Today that the Holy Spirit was poured out in fulfillment of YHVH’s promise in Joel 2 (and recorded in Acts 2). These are exciting times to live in!

“And it will be in the last days, says YHVH,
that I will pour out My Spirit on all humanity;
then your sons and your daughters will prophesy,
your young men will see visions, and your old men will dream dreams.
I will even pour out My Spirit on My male and female slaves in those days,
and they will prophesy.

I will display wonders in the heaven above and signs on the earth below:
blood and fire and a cloud of smoke.
The sun will be turned to darkness and the moon to blood
before the great and remarkable Day of the Lord comes.
Then everyone who calls on the name of the Lord will be saved.”
(Acts 2:17-21, Joel 2:28-32)

To fellow believers in Yeshua, regardless of denomination or affiliation — may this day bring us closer to fulfill Yeshua’s prayer in John 17:21-23.

And to fellow believers in the Master and Creator of the Universe (Blessed be His Name), may He continue to write His laws into our hearts, and may Ruach HaKodesh enable each one of us to obey His Word, in celebration of His love and for His greater glory!

Happy Shavuot / Pentecost!

One thought on “Happy anniversary, believers!

Leave a Reply

